O. de Kort. Musical fireworks by Nikolai Lugansky and the Budapest Festival Orchestra (review; bachtrack.com)

D. Shostakovich, Music to the play Hamlet by Shakespeare, Op.32 – S. Prokofiev, Piano Concerto no. 2 in G minor, Op.16 – P. Tchaikovsky, Symphony no. 2 in C minor “Little Russian”, Op.17 – Budapest Festival Orchestra – Gábor Takács-Nagy, Conductor – Nikolai Lugansky, Piano – Müpa: Bela Bartók National Concert Hall, Budapest – 25 February 2016


‘A concert with Russian music is easily programmed. Take a little bit of Tchaikovsky, add some Rachmaninov or Prokofiev and garnish it with Shostakovich. Shaken, not stirred and na zdorovie! – the success is guaranteed. Though the Budapest Festival Orchestra’s programme used all the traditional ingredients, it improved the recipe considerably with very special flavours: a seldom played suite, a dazzling virtuoso piano concerto and a relaxed symphony. A delicious daring cocktail, served by the pianist Nikolai Lugansky and the Budapest Festival Orchestra under the baton of Gábor Takács-Nagy. ‘…  Read the full review on Bachtrack.

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s

%d bloggers liken dit: